Bristlenose World
Don't forget to vote for Bristlenose World Smile




 
HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 
 

 Orange Spot - Info / Opinions Please

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Fat42b
Small Fry
Small Fry


Number of posts : 34
Location : Dapto / Wollongong
Thank You Points : 2
Registration date : 2010-06-28

PostSubject: Orange Spot - Info / Opinions Please   Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:51 am

Hi all..!!

I have been successfully breeding commons, albino's, calico l/f's peppermints etc for a while now and just recently picked up a trio of Orange Spot B/N's.

They are huge!

The male is 15cm+ and the females are 12cm and 10cm

Now, I have found in the past with commons, calico's etc, that the bigger the trio - particularly the male - the less frequently they spawn.. S'pose it's like teenagers shagging every chance they get and an old married couple do it rarely!! LOL..!!

I'm not sure if everyone elses experience is the same but I'm after some feedback from people who have bread the Orange Spots and their experience on the amount of breeding they do at a larger size.

Cheers all!!

Pete
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Doug
Moderator
Moderator


Male Number of posts : 3128
Age : 30
Location : Adelaide, South Australia
Job/hobbies : Aquatic ecologist/genetisist
Humor : yes please :)
Thank You Points : 198
Registration date : 2010-05-08

PostSubject: Re: Orange Spot - Info / Opinions Please   Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:01 am

My pair that I am trying to sell have spawned for me a few times.

They are a larger species of Bristlenose, so the fact that are huge by common standards is nothing to fret over. They are more picky to spawn that the commons, there is no doubt about it. But the same rules apply. They come from the same river system, they spawn at the same time because of the same triggers.

The problem is that they are very picky about tanks, the position of the cave etc. and are quick to boot the eggs if something bad happens. So you need to keep them in a good sized stable tank with lots of cover and good water movement and filtration. I have found that the last two make a big difference. I spawn mine in a 2.5ft tank with a 1500l/h internal and a sponge filter, so the water moves alot and is loaded with O2.

I grew my females up from fry and they were much larger than commons when they started to look like being gravid so i wouldnt worry about size, just feed them up right and let them go Smile

_________________
Doug's Bristlenose eBook -
The number one source of Bristlenose information and the most detailed breeding guide avaliable
3rd edition LOADS OF INFORMATION, PICS, DIAGRAMS AND BRISTLENOSE GOODNESS

GO TO www.keepingandbreedingbristlenose.com FOR YOUR COPY!!

Like my book - why not "Like" it on Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Keeping-and-Breeding-Bristlenose-Catfish/142417842474993
Click here to vote for Bristlenose World
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Fat42b
Small Fry
Small Fry


Number of posts : 34
Location : Dapto / Wollongong
Thank You Points : 2
Registration date : 2010-06-28

PostSubject: Re: Orange Spot - Info / Opinions Please   Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:50 am

Sounds good Smile

Cheers for the advice.

I have them in a Standard 4ft tank with a mesh divider and 2 sponge filters - one either side.

Water movement huh..?? Hmm.. might put a small power head filter in and see how it goes..

Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Doug
Moderator
Moderator


Male Number of posts : 3128
Age : 30
Location : Adelaide, South Australia
Job/hobbies : Aquatic ecologist/genetisist
Humor : yes please :)
Thank You Points : 198
Registration date : 2010-05-08

PostSubject: Re: Orange Spot - Info / Opinions Please   Mon Jul 26, 2010 5:10 am

I would def recommend it, I would suggest a power filter. Like i said, mine are in a 2.5ft with a 1500l/h unit. water moves fast in there! seems to work though. had more luck with them like that than when they were in a standard breeding tank.

Bristlenose come from the fast flowing tributaries of the amazon and as such they like the water to be moving and full of O2.


_________________
Doug's Bristlenose eBook -
The number one source of Bristlenose information and the most detailed breeding guide avaliable
3rd edition LOADS OF INFORMATION, PICS, DIAGRAMS AND BRISTLENOSE GOODNESS

GO TO www.keepingandbreedingbristlenose.com FOR YOUR COPY!!

Like my book - why not "Like" it on Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Keeping-and-Breeding-Bristlenose-Catfish/142417842474993
Click here to vote for Bristlenose World
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Orange Spot - Info / Opinions Please   Today at 8:09 am

Back to top Go down
 
Orange Spot - Info / Opinions Please
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Orange spot BN weird colour
» blood on longfin bn fins??
» Alot of plecos to i.d
» Orange Spot And Longfin Albino Bristelnose For Sale
» White fry Orange spot bristlenoses

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Bristlenose World :: Bristlenose Main Area :: The Breeding Cave-
Jump to: