Bristlenose World
Don't forget to vote for Bristlenose World Smile

my sump build. Button
Bristlenose World
Don't forget to vote for Bristlenose World Smile

my sump build. Button
Bristlenose World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

my sump build.

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Down2Earth
Large Bristlenose
Large Bristlenose

Number of posts : 203
Thank You Points : 1
Registration date : 2012-02-18

my sump build. Empty
PostSubject: my sump build.   my sump build. EmptyWed Mar 14, 2012 11:51 pm

alright. im not an expert or anything on this but this is what i got going on for my self.

i have a 40 breeder with discus in it so i need a low current for them. this tank will also hold my 3" or bigger BN to grow out even bigger.

i have a Eshopps over flow rated for 1600 GPH.. a little over kill for my tank but i figured for 20$ more why not. its has 2 1" pipe fittings on the bottom. so if u wanted to do a wet dry and some other type of sump u could.

i personally use 2 tanks. so one pipe goes right into the main sump. the other goes into another tank, from this tank into the main sump. this is so i can keep other fish in this 2nd tank and not have to worry about them fighting or hurting my discus. i use it for smaller discus. till they are big enough not to get picked on by the bigger discus.

on my other tank in my front room. its a 60 gallon with a 10 gallon sump. this has a eshopps 800 GPH. 1" down pipe.

on both the tanks i am using a quiet one 1200. rated for 330 GPH. so i get low current in both set ups. also i go bigger on the over flow since i like to dump 5 gallon buckets of water into the tank and not have to worry about over flowing.