Bristlenose World
Don't forget to vote for Bristlenose World Smile

gravid girl not spawning, help appreciated. Button
Bristlenose World
Don't forget to vote for Bristlenose World Smile

gravid girl not spawning, help appreciated. Button
Bristlenose World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

gravid girl not spawning, help appreciated.

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
scott
Fish Egg
Fish Egg

Male Number of posts : 5
Thank You Points : 0
Registration date : 2011-05-09

gravid girl not spawning, help appreciated. Empty
PostSubject: gravid girl not spawning, help appreciated.   gravid girl not spawning, help appreciated. EmptyMon May 09, 2011 1:33 am

hi guys, i'm new to your awesome site and would like to say a big hello to all. Very Happy
i'm new to breeding and just wanted some tips for my Albino trio.
I've not long ago purchased a proven breeding trio and in that was one very fat gravid female.
I have them in a 2ft(approx 65L) tank by themselves with one cave for the big male and some drift wood to chew.
Filtration is via a hang-on and two large sponge filters.
Food is mainly algae on tank and wafers, also zucchini and the odd bit of cuccumber.
The fat female appeared ready when i got them but since i've had them she's held her bundle and has gotten even bigger, i'm starting to get worried about her. She isn't eating that i can see either.
The smaller female in the short time i've had them has spawned with the male and i've got approx 50+ fry free swimming around the parents tank.
Is there anything i can do to make the big girl Spawn to release her massive load.
I'm willing to try anything before she becomes egg bound.
Any help is greatly appreciated
cheers scott
Back to top Go down
Doug
Bristlenose King
Bristlenose King
Doug

Male Number of posts : 3128
Job/hobbies : Aquatic ecologist/genetisist