Bristlenose World
Don't forget to vote for Bristlenose World Smile

Courting Behaviour? Button
Bristlenose World
Don't forget to vote for Bristlenose World Smile

Courting Behaviour? Button
Bristlenose World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Courting Behaviour?

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Silvashadow
Large Bristlenose
Large Bristlenose
Silvashadow

Female Number of posts : 249
Job/hobbies : Quest for the unusual plecos!
Humor : Om nom nom?
Thank You Points : 19
Registration date : 2011-05-09

Courting Behaviour? Empty
PostSubject: Courting Behaviour?   Courting Behaviour? EmptyWed May 11, 2011 9:36 am

Hi everyone,
I'm rather new to the breeding of these guys and just asking some advice. I have had a female albino BN in a grow up tank currently occupied by baby balloon mollies and a few cherry shrimp. I've had this female for a couple months now and noticed about a week ago she was a lot fatter then usual and checking her revealed eggs moving around inside.
A couple days later (when I had the time) I bought home a mature male for her in the hopes they may breed. He has been steadily making a cave under a long piece of driftwood and chasing everyone away from it.
Now, everytime the female comes near him she does this rather interesting dance (flirting with him maybe?) by wiggling a lot in short spurts and her fins wiggling/shaking/waving a lot as well. She even turns around at some points and hits him with her tail (getting closer as she does this), but if she gets too close he scares her away.
I have a breeder cave in this tank as well though the male seems uninterested in it, he likes his tight-spaced cave he's made.